For most people, buying a diamond is a new experience, but that doesn't mean it should be overwhelming.

Learning about the attributes of diamonds is important before making such an important purchase.

The diamond is a complicated stone, and each aspect of it affects its overall beauty.

This allows you to go beyond "The Four Cs" (Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight) and find out everything that gives a diamond both its beauty and its value.


Understanding these four factors & how they interact can help you select a diamond that suits your taste & your pocket.


      Key Points

  • Cut is a diamond's most important characteristic.

  • It has the greatest overall influence on a diamond's beauty.

  • It determines what we generally think of as sparkle.



      Key Points

  • Color refers to a diamond's lack of color, grading the whiteness of a diamond.
  • A color grade of D is the highest possible, while Z is the lowest.

  • Blue Nile only sells diamonds with a color grade of J or higher.



      Key Points

  • Clarity is a measure of the number and size of the tiny imperfections that occur in almost all diamonds.
  • Many of these imperfections are microscopic, and do not affect a diamond's beauty in any discernible way.



      Key Points

  • Carat is specifically a measure of a diamond's weight, and by itself may not accurately reflect a diamond's size.

  • We tend to evaluate diamond size by viewing it from the top because that is how diamonds are presented to us when set into a ring.

  • To understand diamond size, carat weight should be considered in conjunction with two other criteria:

    Distance in millimeters across the top of the diamond.
    Diamond's cut grade.


Other Points to remember
  • A Diamond Grading Report documents the specific characteristics of a diamond.

  • These reports are issued by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), which is among the most respected organizations in the diamond industry.

  • Since all diamond shapes are very different, unique characteristics determine quality for each shape. The different shapes are ROUND, PRINCESS, EMERALD, ASSCHER, MARQUISE, OVAL, RADIANT, PEAR, HEART and CUSHION.

  • If you have additional questions, feel free to contact us to help you find the diamond that's perfect for you.

See More shapes...




                                                                                                  Home | Diamond Stock | Diamond Education | Investment Diamonds | The Wow Collection | Terms & Conditions | Contact Us